Recipes

My take on Chili

My husband is a hunter of deer and turkey. So many of my recipes include those two as main ingredients, especially deer meat.

I use ground deer in my veggie soup, meatloaf, chili, anything that calls for ground beef.

When I make chili or veggie soup; I start it cooking early in the day so that it will absorb all the flavor of the seasonings.

I normally just use one of my bigger pots and cook them on low via stove top all afternoon.

During the holidays on a day we were out all day; I browned my dear meat, seasoning & chopped onions, then transferred it to my slow cooker and added the tomatoes, chili powder and beans, and let it cook on low all afternoon. It was nice coming home from a long day to a ready meal.

 

Ingredients include:

  • 1 lb. of ground deer or beef
  • Chili powder to seasoning
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Chopped onion
  • 2 cans of diced tomatoes
  • 2 cans of any brand chili beans
  • 1 can of any brand black beans
  • Shredded cheese to top, if desired

Directions:

  1. With just enough cooking oil to coat the bottom of the pan, start off low, start to saute the onions, adding ground meat, salt and pepper to taste and a little chili powder.
  2. Once the ground meat has browned start adding a can of tomatoes and sprinkle  some chili powder.
  3. Add a can of chili beans and sprinkle some more chili powder.
  4. Continuing adding tomatoes and beans alternately along with sprinkling chili powder with each.
  5. Once it has come to a low boil, turn it down on low, let it simmer all afternoon.

Once you are ready to eat, add your favorite topping if you like. Mine is shredded cheddar cheese. Pair it with your favorite crackers and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

